Those that serve on our Governing Body are proud to be associated with Wollaston School.

Governors are primarily responsible for the strategic direction of the school, monitoring and evaluating the effectiveness of the school through full governing body and sub-committee meetings, in order to ensure that everything possible is being  done to secure student achievement.

Governors also visit the school on a regular basis, taking time to talk to the students and staff and experiencing first hand what it is like to be part of the Wollaston School community.


Simon Anderson
Head of School

Mike Thomas_Governor

Michael Thomas
Chair Of Governors
Trust Appointed Governor




Sara Austin
Trust Appointed Governor, Vice Chair & Special Educational Needs


Joanna Bunyan
Trust Appointed Governor
Child Protection Governor


Richard Hollis-Brown
Staff Governor


Pat Smith

Pat Smith
Co-opted Governor


Jo Melia
Staff Governor




          Mike Foster                Co-Opted Governor




Brigid-Ann Leslie
Trust Appointed Governor

Jason Baker

Jason Baker
Co-opted Governor



Philip Kelsall 
Trust Appointed Governor


Parent Governor


Becky Rice (2)

Parent Governor
Becky Rice


Wollaston School Instrument of Governance

The name of the school is Wollaston School.
The school is an Academy and is a founding member of the Nene Valley Partnership Multi-Academy Trust.
The name of the governing body is ‘The Local Governing Body of Wollaston School.’

The governing body shall consist of:

  • The Head of School
  • 2 parent governors (elected by parents)
  • 2 staff governors (elected by staff)
  • 6 trust appointed governors
  • 3 co-opted governors

The total number of governors is 14.

Meeting Structures

  • All governors are members of the Full Governing Body, which is chaired by Dr Michael Thomas.
  • 5 governors sit on the Finance and Resources Committee, which is chaired by Mr Jay Davenport.
  • 7 governors sit on the Personnel & HR Committee, which is chaired by Dr Michael Thomas.
  • 5 Governors sit on the Learning & Achievement Committee which is chaired by Mrs Sara Austin.
  • 7 governors sit on the Health & Safety Committee which is chaired by Ms Brigid-Ann Leslie.
  • Each of the Committee Chairs then form the Pay Committee.

Contact Us

If you wish to contact the governing body at any time, please email Mrs Samantha Hale, Clerk to Governors: